Warm Smokey Eye with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Winter is coming (already here). I’ve been really into fall colors for my eyes and was recently gifted the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette. Like everyone else on the planet, I’m crazy about this palette. The shadows are so pigmented and make blending almost suspiciously easy. I wore this look to dinner and a movie on Friday night where I drank beer, ate potatoes, and saw Moana. It held up really nicely through the night; I only had to reapply lipstick once right after eating.

Products used:

  • Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H Makeup foundation
  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Color Correcting Fluid in Green
  • Becca Backlight Priming Filter
  • Coty Airspun Powder
  • Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Chantilly
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette
  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance
  • The Balm Bahama Mama bronzer
  • Wet ‘N Wild Coloricon bronzer in Ticket to Brazil
  • Becca blush in Songbird from the Blushed with Light Palette
  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Powder in Champagne Pop
  • MAC Prolongwear Lip Pencil in Ms. Diva
  • MAC lipstick in Diva
  • Dior lipstick in 999
  • L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer in Dark Brunette
  • Anastasia Beverly Hills brow gel
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara
  • Skindanavia finishing spray

I usually start by priming my face and then letting the primer set while I do my eyes. I use my finger to put eyeshadow primer all over my eyelids. I set the primer with either a matte color close to my skin tone or translucent powder. This makes blending easier and prevents patchiness and skipping.

I started out with Raw Sienna (a warm, light brown) in my crease. I used a MAC 224 brush to get a very blown out, smokey look, but any soft blending brush will do. I built up the Raw Sienna until I was satisfied that both sides were even. After that, I used a MAC 217 to place Red Ochre (a deep, warm red) slightly closer to my crease and into the crease. This color is darker and more rich, so I kept it lower on my eyes and tight in the crease to keep from looking like I got punched in the face. I sprayed my Real Techniques Shading Brush with MAC Fix+ and then dipped into Vermeer (a metallic white-pink), which I patted all over the lid pretty densely. The Fix+ helped to intensify the color of the shadow. I used Tempera (a matte-ish white) to highlight my browbone. On my lower lashline, I first went in with Raw Sienna and then followed with Red Ochre.

I used my fingers to pat green color corrector on the redness I have on my cheeks, nose, forehead, and chin. I then used my Real Techniques sponge to blend the Lancome foundation all over my face in as a thin a layer as possible. I highlighted my undereye area with Nars Concealer, blended that out with the sponge, and set that with powder. I contoured with The Balm’s bronzer using a ELF Contour brush. The bronzer is not orange, and so it works nicely as contour on me. For blush, I dipped into my Becca blush palette that I recently got on sale over the Black Friday weekend. I went with a peachy-nude blush because I did not want to overload the look. I used Champagne Pop to create a subtle highlight with my Real Techniques blush brush. I filled in my eyebrows with the amazing L’Oreal eyebrow pencil, set the hairs in place with Anastasia brow gel, and used Tarte mascara to coat my lashes.

For my lips, I wanted a deep cranberry color but I don’t have one. So I got a little creative. I lined my lips with MAC’s Ms. Diva liner, which matches MAC Diva lipstick. I filled in my lips with Diva, and then in the center of my top and bottom lip, I used a red lipstick (Dior in 999) to make it a little less purple-toned. I sprayed my face with Skindanavia setting spray, and that was the finished look!

 

2 thoughts on “Warm Smokey Eye with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette

Leave a Reply

