New Things I Got in the Mail Today

image2-10

Every December, Sephora sends out loyalty gift cards to Beauty Insiders. This year, I was a VIB, which means I got $20 off of any order. I did not have much that I needed, but I really wanted to order something because the Rewards perks were actually really good. I have not really tried this stuff out yet, so I’ll have to update with looks I do using them and give final reviews later.

My hair is very thin and kind of sparse, so it just sits on my head not doing much of anything. I tend to use dry shampoo to give it a little volume, but that doesn’t really stick around. I’ve wanted to find a good volumizing, texturizing product for my hair. I previously used the Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray which is really nice and added a lot of nice texture to my hair, but I burned through that bottle way too quickly for the price ($44 for a full size, which is 8.5 oz). In comparison, this Living Proof Full Dry Volume Blast spray is $29 for 7.5 oz. The Oribe is $5.18 per oz and the Living Proof is $3.90 per oz. I’ll update soon as to whether they’re comparable in quality, and whether the Living Proof is worth getting.

I think what I was most excited about was actually the Beauty Blender. I’ve been reluctant to spend $20 on a sponge, and my Real Techniques sponge does a really beautiful job. But curiosity got the best of me, and since I had the $20 from Sephora to spend, I thought I’d finally see if there was a noticeable difference that would justify the price difference. This particular Beauty Blender also came with a small Beauty Blender Cleanser Solid which I honestly think is the best brush and sponge cleaner of all time. It’s perfect for travel, and makes cleaning so easy and effortless. Nothing gets my tools cleaner.

The rest of the items are point perks. I got two perfumes: the Viktor and Rolf Flowerbomb perfume that everyone is talking about and the Lancome La Vie Est Belle. Both of them come in adorable little bottles and honestly smell so lovely. The Flowerbomb is a very unique scent. It’s clearly floral, but the jasmine scent comes out so nicely that it doesn’t smell too sweet. Will have to update on the staying power. The Lancome is a sweeter version of the Flowerbomb. There’s definitely jasmine in their too, but it smells less floral and more citrusy and almost dessert-like. I’ve never taken the plunge and bought a full size of a perfume because I somehow find myself always drowning in perfume samples.

I also got a CoverFX sunscreen sample that I’m eager to try. I’ve tried a few daily moisturizers with sunscreen in them, and they all pill up and leave little white dots all over my face when I try to put heavier moisturizer or makeup over them.

Finally, I got a Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche lipstick sample in Liquorice and an Anastasia Beverly Hills lip gloss sample in Potion. I’ll do looks with these two colors soon and let you know how they look and how they wear.Swatches below (ABH on the left, Bite on the right):

image1-21

 

Leave a Reply

