Review: Stila Matte Métal Lipstick

I was resistant to the metallic lips trend. It felt very fleeting and gimmicky. But as you can tell by the title of this blog post, I bought a metallic lipstick. There are a few reasons why I chose this one. First, liquid lipsticks are already inherently drying. I found metallic liquid lipsticks to be even more drying, which my cracked winter lips could not handle. Second, a lot of metallic products that came out actually ended up looking more glittery, which is not my style at all. And third, I didn’t want to spend my money on an unwearable trend. I don’t live the kind of life that lets me wear crazy makeup every day, as much as I wish I did. When I buy something, it’s something that I can see myself using on a day-to-day basis (or at least on the weekends).

Enter the Stila Matte Metal Lipsticks. I ran into them as I was buying some new concealer a few days ago. They were on display at my local Ulta, and they caught my eye. I swatched a few and realized they didn’t seem unwearable. They are a lipstick, and so they have a creamy formula, although being metallic, they are on the drier side for a bullet lipstick. However, the metallic in these lipsticks is more of a metallic sheen as opposed to glitter, and that is ultimately what won me over.

image1-22
Stila Matte Metal Lipstick in the shade “dore”

I wanted to buy the red color that they have, but my Ulta was out of stock and so I bought this nice rose gold shade (pictured above). I’m not wearing any makeup in that photo aside from the lipstick, but I just wanted to share how excited I am about this purchase. The lipstick is hydrating, and the color is surprisingly flattering. I’m about to get on the Ulta website to buy the red color. It’s hard to get the full effect; I think this would look a lot nicer on video if you could see how it catches the light.

These lipsticks are currently exclusive to Ulta and Stila’s website and cost $22. All in all, if you’re looking for a slow introduction to the metallic lips trend, I would start with these lipsticks.

Leave a Reply

