Shop My Stash: Blush

Hey everyone! I’m starting a new series where I go through my makeup and give you reviews on all the products I own from that category of makeup. These are items that I know, love, have used multiple times, or have possibly even repurchased. This week, I’m going to be talking about blush.

Blush has always been one of the least exciting steps in my routine. I have a lot of natural redness in my face, especially in my cheeks, so I tend to apply blush with a very light hand since I spend a lot of time trying to even out my skin tone and get rid of the natural red tinge. However, I do think that blush does add something special to a look when you get it right. My collection of blushes is pretty modest:

  • Lancome Blush Subtil in Aplum
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour blush in Captivating
  • Wet N Wild Coloricon blush in Rose Champagne
  • Becca Blushed with Light Palette
    • Wisteria
    • Songbird
    • Snapdragon

I received the Lancome blush as a gift with purchase recently during Black Friday. The color is a beautiful dusty rose. It’s quite the powdery formula, so I make sure to tap the excess of my brush so I don’t overload my face with pigment. That being said, after I do that, it’s actually pretty sheer. It’s buildable, but it’s not one of those very pigmented blushes (like NYX or Becca) where you have to be super careful. I love Lancome, but if all their blushes are like this blush, then I’m not sure I’d really spend my money there. A full size of this blush retails for $32, and you get 0.18 oz.

The Tarte blush is raved about, so when I saw it was included as part of a deal Tarte was having where you spend $59 and get 6 full-size products, I decided to go for it because I had never tried it. I really love coral blushes, especially when I have a bit of a tan going, so I picked the color Captivating because it really is a true coral pink. This blush is not powdery at all. It’s definitely pigmented but not overly so. I would say this is probably one of my top blushes. Even if I go in with a slightly heavier hand than I intended to, it blends out so nicely and looks quite natural, which is what I go for in a blush. Also the packaging is gorgeous and feels very heavy and luxe, although I will say the pan does slide around a bit when swatching which doesn’t bother me and might make it easy to depot, if that’s your thing. I highly recommend this blush.  This blush costs $28, and you get 0.20 oz.

Wet N Wild is one of my favorite drugstore brands. I am constantly amazed by how I keep picking up their products that sometimes cost less than $5 and falling in love with them. This blush is no exception. The color is a slightly more orange coral as compared to the Tarte, and it has noticeable shimmer in it so it can be used as a blush topper as well as kind of a blush/highlight hybrid. This blush is very powdery so I absolutely tap off the excess and sometimes run my brush over the back of my hand to get that intense first layer off. I’ve gone overboard with this blush a few times. Also, just FYI, this blush contains a LOT of silicone-based ingredients so absolutely avoid this if you are sensitive to silicone. This blush is $2.99 (!!!) and you get 0.20 oz.

I recently got the Becca Blushed with Light Palette during a sale where it was $17, I think. First of all, THE PACKAGING. I’m geeking out over it, honestly. It’s gorgeous. It feels so luxurious and looks so lovely. I think this would be so nice and convenient for travel, because it feels incredibly sturdy and you have such a great array of colors as well as a large mirror. Wisteria is a color that is new and specific to this palette. The other two can be purchased as full-size Becca blushes. I am absolutely in love with the Becca blush formula. The pigment is fantastic, but the blendability keeps them from looking clown-ish. I’ve tried all three colors, and none of them look bad on me. I think Wisteria may not show up on deeper skin tones (this is just a guess; feel free to prove me wrong) but Snapdragon would be GORGEOUS on darker skinned people. I think Songbird would look nice on all skin tones. I’m not sure what the status of this palette is because it was limited edition, but if it ever comes back, I wouldn’t hesitate to buy it. It was originally about $40, I believe, and you get 0.46 oz.

4 thoughts on “Shop My Stash: Blush

Leave a Reply

