Shop My Stash: Red Lipsticks

There is no better time to wear a red lip than December. It’s such a classic winter look, and I really believe it’s something everyone can pull off. When choosing the perfect red, it’s really important to consider the undertones of your skin (either cool, neutral or warm). A quick way to tell what your undertones are is by looking at the veins on your wrist. If they appear blue, you’re probably cool-toned. If they look more green, you’re likely warm. If you see a mix of both (like me), you’re neutral. This isn’t a ~rule~ and of course you can wear whatever lipstick you want to wear, but if you’re having trouble finding one that looks “right”, you can base your decision on your undertones. Cool-toned people will probably prefer more blue-based reds, while warm-toned people might prefer orange-based reds. I’m neutral, and I have found that I think I look alright wearing both but I prefer a warmer red.

I own 5 red lipsticks:

  1. Stila Stay All Day Matte Metal Lipstick in Sirene
  2. Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Gazpacho
  3. Dior Rouge Dior Lipstick in 999
  4. Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella
  5. Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Project Chimps

stilaI recently did a review of another Stila Matte Metal lipstick, and I said I enjoyed it. Sirene is no exception. I love the metallic sheen on these lipsticks, and the bullet format is so comfortable to wear and easy to apply. The one thing I dislike about this red one is that I wish it was more opaque with one swipe. In order to get a good color payoff, I need to sort of layer this on with a heavy hand, but I don’t really mind that. I think this color, like most metallics, can emphasize lines on your lips, so definitely exfoliate and use a balm or lip primer before applying it. These are currently only available at Ulta and Stila’s website. They are $22.

I got this Bite lipstick as a 100-point perk from Sephora. The Amuse Bouche formula is gazpachoone of favorites. It’s so creamy and hydrating, which makes it so comfortable to wear. They do transfer quite a bit though, so expect to reapply a few times if you’re going to be wearing it through the day. This is a very blue-based red, so it would be great for cool-toned people. Blue-based reds also tend to make your teeth look whiter, which is always nice when wearing such a bright color.

diorThe Dior lipstick was also a sample perk from Sephora. This color is a very classic red that’s on the warmer side. It’s not as shiny and creamy as the Bite lipstick, but it’s not matte either. It transfers less than the Bite lipstick as well, but it isn’t as hydrating. I do think it’s a beautiful lipstick, although I likely wouldn’t pay for the full size. I think drugstore brands and mid-range brands also have great lipsticks. One drugstore brand that comes to mind is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte Kate Moss lipstick line. I think that lipstick gives a similar finish, if you are looking for a standard bullet lipstick red that’s affordable.

NARS Cruella is a lipstick that I think everyone in the world owns because it was Sephora’s narsbirthday gift two years ago. Every time I wear this lipstick, I get compliments on it. It’s matte, and definitely does not feel creamy when you apply it. I’ve found them to be just a little bit drying, although I don’t think it is bothersome, especially if you’re used to liquid lipsticks. The pencil format is really convenient, and makes it easy to draw on a perfect red lip without having to use a lip liner. It really is a lovely and convenient lipstick, and Cruella is still probably my favorite shade of red.

project-chimpsLast but not least is a recent addition to my collection. The Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks are a favorite liquid lipstick formula for many. I’m on the fence about them. They’re gorgeous initially and go on very opaque. As it continues to wear, though, it starts to make my lips appear very dry. I also don’t think it really layers that nicely. It is absolutely transfer-proof, however, and this particular color is gorgeous. I do think overall it’s worth it, and it is a good liquid lipstick. It just isn’t my favorite formula.

Leave a Reply

