Sara Happ Vanilla Bean Gift Set

Happy holidays! I hope you have all been able to enjoy the holidays in some way, whether with family, friends, or in any other way. I’ve been busy – between work obligations, family obligations, and present buying, I haven’t had a minute to breathe (or post on this blog). So here is a quick post to make up for it! I promise I’ll have a more substantial post coming up soon. New Years Eve promises to bring with it some fab makeup looks.

20161226_025533670_ios

I received the Sara Happ Vanilla Bean gift set from my boyfriend’s mom for Christmas. She got it at Nordstrom, but you can purchase it on the Sara Happ website, and some other places like Blue Mercury that sell luxury makeup and skincare. Sara Happ is a brand that creates luxury lip products that are supposed to actually moisturize your lips. They are vegan and not tested on animals, as well as paraben free. This particular gift set is celebrating the 10th anniversary of Sara Happ’s famed lip scrub. In this set you receive the Lip Scrub Exfoliator in Vanilla Bean and the Lip Slip Lip Balm. It retails for $40, and I feel like I should tell you that I would honestly never spend my own money on a $40 lip scrub and balm. That being said, it’s the perfect thing to recieve as a gift for that exact reason.

I have perpetually chapped lips, and I am constantly anxiously picking at the dry skin on my lips. I actually love the shape of my lips, but because I’m always ruining them, I’m on a constant quest to find exfoliators, balms, and the like that will keep them looking presentable. I have the e.l.f. lip exfoliator that comes in a lipstick tube, and I’ve also tried the Lush lip exfoliator that comes in a pot. I think the e.l.f. one may be slightly too gritty. I did like the Lush one, and I LOVED that it was made of only edible ingredients because I always feel like I end up eating some of my lip scrub on accident. I will say that because it’s made with only edible ingredients, I feel sort of dumb paying money for a small tub when I could use sugar and oil to make my own at home and save the money.

This Sara Happ scrub comes in a tub like the Lush scrub. The grit comes from sugar, a standard in lip scrubs. It smells like caramel, which is included in the scrub. I really did enjoy the way this scrub made my lips feel. I used the Lip Slip right after, and I actually loved that as well. I’m pretty loyal to lanolin-based lip products like the Bite Agave Lip Mask, but for a daytime wear, the Lip Slip is nice. It does have both mineral oil and beeswax in it though, so stay away if you’re allergic to either of those ingredients.

All in all, I think this is a great set to get or give as a gift. The packaging is adorable, and it feels very luxe. Would I ever buy this with my own money? Probably not. Just get some sugar and honey and make your own for a fraction of the cost.

Leave a Reply

