Skincare “Sunday”: Karuna Flawless Skin Kit Part 1

So obviously it’s Monday and not Sunday, so this is a skincare Monday. BUT I did try these products yesterday, and I don’t have work today so it kind of feels like a Sunday. Just go with it. Today I’ll be talking about two masks from the Karuna Flawless Skin Kit. This kit is currently out of stock on Sephora’s website, but all masks can be purchased individually at their normal retail price ($8 per mask). The kit cost $39 and is a $71 value. This set was released for the holidays, and I’m not sure if they will be restocking it. It includes all of Karuna’s best-selling face, eye, hand, and foot masks as well as the new Melting Boost Collection.

Karuna is a brand that makes cloth sheet masks and skincare products. If you haven’t tried sheet masks yet, winter is the perfect time to do it. The cloth is infused with a serum that hydrates your face like nothing else. Karuna’s masks are on the pricier side, and there are absolutely cheaper options. Sephora brand face masks are $6 per mask, and some of them work really nicely (I haven’t had a chance to try them all but my personal favorite is the rose mask). Tony Moly also makes fantastic masks; you can get those at Ulta for $3.75.

I have not had a chance to try all the masks in the Karuna kit just yet, so this will be an ongoing series. Last night, I pampered myself a little and tried out the Clarifying Face Mask as well as the Exfoliating Foot Mask. The Clarifying mask claims to bring a sense of calm to stressed, irritated skin. I hadn’t been taking good care of my skin over the holidays, so this seemed perfect. I had some small zits and my skin looked quite red. The foot mask claims to revive and restore dry, callused feet. I haven’t had a pedicure in a while or even done anything at home, so the skin on my heels was starting to peel a bit. I generally have very dry skin all over my body, for reference.

20161223_235107914_ios

When using sheet masks, it’s really up to you how long you want to keep them on. Karuna recommends 10-20 minutes, and that’s what I did last night because I got sleepy. But I read reviews for the foot mask where people said they put on a pair of socks over the mask and kept them on all night. Do what works for you.

The Clarifying mask in particular claims to be great for acne-prone skin. My skin is not generally acne-prone, so I wasn’t expecting miracles from this face mask. It is oil-free, so give it a try if you have oily skin. It could be good for you. I did not find any miraculous changes from this mask. The redness in my skin was toned down, probably due to the added hydration. I won’t be repurchasing this mask, but not because it’s a bad mask; it just isn’t for me.

The foot mask is basically two bags with serum inside them. You put your feet inside the bags and tighten it with a tab at the top. I’m not sure how much it exfoliated my feet, but they were definitely softer after I took the mask off and rubbed the serum in. The softness lasted overnight, and I woke up with my feet still feeling softer than they were before I put the mask. I think it would have worked even better if I had first scrubbed off the dead skin and then kept it on longer. I think the effect will last about a day or two. I’ll probably repurchase this foot mask, or at least try another one. Let me know if you have any recommendations!

Leave a Reply

