December Empties

I don’t know about you, but I love seeing what products people have stuck with until the bitter end. I watch so many empties videos on Youtube and read a lot of empties blog posts, and I always feel that I get the best reviews from them. First impressions are fun, but with most products, my impressions evolve over time until I settle on a final opinion. Anyway, these are the products I have used up during December.

  • Caudalie Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet Cream: I got this in my November Sephora Play! box. It’s 0.33 fluid ounces, but in a full size you would get 1.3 ounces for $39. This is one of those lotions that is more gel-like and lightweight, so it is a good daytime lotion for oily and dry skins. Caudalie claims to enrich their products with polyphenols, which are found in grapes, and they say that will protect the skin from free radicals. There is no real evidence to back up that claim, so I wouldn’t buy this for the magic grape juice infusion. It’s a  nice moisturizer though; nothing special. It was not quite enough for my very dry skin, and I went through it quickly because I used quite a lot. I won’t be repurchasing this.
  • Yves Saint Laurent Mon Paris perfume: Another November Sephora Play! sample. I lovelovelove this perfume. I really appreciate it when Sephora sends perfume samples (IN SPRAY BOTTLES) that are perfumes that would be way out of my price range in a full size. This perfume costs $92 for 1.6 oz. I have been meaning to invest in a perfume; I’m just not sure which one yet. This one is absolutely a front-runner though. The smell is perfect and lingers all day. It is not over-powering, even when I would sometimes go accidentally overboard. There is a slight smell of berries, while still remaining floral. I may actually repurchase this.
  • Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme: I still have a few pads left in the jar, but I’m officially giving up on this product. I don’t think it really does much. It’s not expensive ($15 for 60 pads, but Nip + Fab is very often BOGO at Ulta and drugstores). I’ve heard others rave about this, so this may be a product you should try for yourself if you want to get into AHAs and BHAs, as this product contains both. The pad format is awesome; so easy to travel with. I probably won’t repurchase because I have a bottle of Sunday Riley’s Good Genes I’ve been wanting to get through.
  • Soap and Glory Hand Food: I have the DRIEST hands. No, seriously. The driest. They crack and flake and bleed, and it gets ugly in the winter. I go through mini hand lotions like none other. The full size of this product is 4.2 oz for $8; I have a smaller size that I forgot how much it cost. I like to buy deluxe sample size hand lotions and keep them in my purse at all times. This lotion was fine. It smelled kind of nice. A little too sweet for my taste, but bearable. It kept my hands reasonably moisturized, but nothing spectacular. I’ll probably be trying some other lotions in the future.
  • Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser: Ok, y’all. I have some thoughts on Glossier. I think they are mostly selling an aesthetic. I think their products are overpriced. I also think this Milky Jelly Cleanser is fucking fantastic. I’ve tried the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser, and for my skin, the Glossier was even more gentle than that. This face wash took off most of my makeup (all if it was a lighter makeup day) in addition to cleansing my face without stripping it of the very little moisture it does have. If you’re looking to get into Glossier or looking for a good face wash, look no further. This is it. $18 for 6 fl. oz. is a little steep, but I will keep repurchasing this probably for all of eternity.
  • Farmacy Skin Dew: So this is a full bottle because I keep getting samples of this, but I accidentally threw out an empty bottle before I could write up this post. Anyway, I got this in Sephora Play! yet again. I love having dewy skin, and if you do too, then you’ll like this. It’s a “hydrating essence mist & setting spray.” I use it to set my makeup, and it works really well, in addition to adding a little extra moisture back into my face. I will say though – THIS SPRAY BOTTLE SUCKS. Setting sprays normally have a very fine mist that you can nicely shower all over your face. Not this thing. This thing comes at you in a horizontal stream, and straight up attacks your face. I ended up transferring it into another empty spray bottle I had lying around. Farmacy, fix this. I assume the full size does not have this issue, but still. A full size costs $44 and you get 3.3 oz. That price is a little bit steep, so I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing this because I’m happy with my Urban Decay All Nighter. Who knows though. I did really enjoy it.
  • Fresh Rose Face Mask: I got this as my Sephora birthday gift for this year. I love the way Fresh product packaging looks, and have always wanted to try their products so this was super exciting for me. I was very underwhelmed. This mask is hydrating. That’s pretty much it. It has real bits of rose petals in it, which I guess is supposed to justify the fact that you would pay $62 for a full size (3.4 oz) but like…nah. Buy yourself a sheet mask instead for like $4. Hard pass.
One thought on “December Empties

Leave a Reply

