Tutorial: Dark date night look

20170108_220441167_iosHey everyone! I’m about to head out to see La La Land with the significant other, but I thought I’d do a quick post about the look I’m wearing. I was inspired by a look in “Making Faces”, a book by the amazing makeup artist Kevyn Aucoin. I wanted to do a strong brow, glowy skin, and a dark, bold lip. Here is the final look and a quick tutorial to hopefully inspire you to be the beautiful Queens of Darkness I know you all can be.

20170108_221557863_ios

 

  1. I primed my face with the Becca Backlight Priming filter to add glow.
  2. Using my Real Techniques sponge to dab it in, I used my favorite foundation: Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H in 210 Buff N.
  3. I used some Tarte Shape Tape to conceal under my eyes and around the edges of my nose. I set that with the Coty Airspun Powder.
  4. For brows, I used the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer pencil to fill in my brows and the Anastasia Clear Brow Gel to set them in place.
  5. I used the Shape Tape on my lids to conceal veins/discoloration. I took an eyeshadow close to my skintone and set the concealer. I went over my lid with MAC “Nylon” eyeshadow and highlighted my inner corners with “Lucky Clover” from the Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild highlight palette.
  6. I used “Lucky Clover” on my cheekbones as well to highlight.
  7. For blush, I used the Lancome Blush Subtil in “Aplum”, which is a rosy pink shade. I 20170108_221544234_iosplaced the blush more on my cheekbones to sort of “contour” with it, like Kevyn Aucoin did in the image from the book.
  8. For lips, I lined my lips with black eyeliner and then used the Too Faced Melted Matte lipstick in “Evil Twin” for my lips. It’s supposed to be a deepened plum color but on me it really just looks black. I dig it.
  9. For lashes, I used the Lancome Cils Booster lash primer with the Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara. I’m still experimenting with the Bobby Brown mascara, but I think I really like it.
  10. I set my face with the Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray.

 

Leave a Reply

