Tutorial: Red grungy eye look

Hey everyone! I’ll be giving you a tutorial on how to get this red eye look. I love red – I think it’s such an eye-catching, gorgeous eyeshadow look. I know red lips are always the go-to, but red eyeshadow complements all eye colors and really makes eyes pop in a cute, grungy sort of way.

  1. 1With a fluffy blending brush, grab a dark red shadow and blend it into your crease. I have hooded eyes, so I tend to exaggerate this so it shows when I open my eyes. If you don’t, keep the color near your crease. If you have hooded eyes like me, try to cut a straight line across your crease and don’t be afraid to blend above the crease. It won’t look over the top when your eyes are open. I used Red Ochre from the ABH Modern Renaissance Palette.
  2. With a smaller and more precise blending brush, grab a dark brown color and 2concentrate it more on your outer v to create depth and darkness. I used Cyprus Umber from the ABH Modern Renaissance Pallete. Don’t worry about getting color on your lid because we’re going to go over the lid with another color. I also extended the red and the brown in a semi-wing-like fashion to exaggerate the look a bit for fun.
  3. 3Grab a shader brush or any eyeshadow brush that lets you pack on shadow, and get the brightest red you have. I used Love+ by Sugarpill. Pack this on your inner lid to the center. Messy shadow lines can be cleaned up once you’re all done either with your finger or some concealer.
  4. I lined my bottom lash line with the same img_8193dark red and dark brown that I used before. Then, I highlighted my inner corners with a shimmery gold (Becca “Champagne Pop” highlight). I used a matte white shadow to highlight my brow bone. And that’s the finished look! Don’t be afraid to wear bright reds. They can be very wearable and not as My Chemical Romance as you might think.

 

Other products used: Too Faced Born This Way Foundation, Tarte Shape Tape concealer, Essence Gimme Brow, Becca Champagne Pop to highlight, Tarte Amazonian Clay blush, Bite Beauty lipstick in Honeycomb, Marc Jacobs gloss in Sugar, Sugar

Leave a Reply

