January Sephora Play! Unboxing

Sephora Play! is a subscription box that costs $10 per month. They send you samples of products from Sephora stores. I am a fan of this subscription box; the issue I had with past boxes like Birchbox was that they sent me products from brands I was not necessarily interested in trying. Sephora has sent me products from Make Up For Ever, Urban Decay, and other brands carried at Sephora. A lot of the products are things I have heard of or wanted to try anyway. I found my holy grail primer through this box (Becca Backlight Priming Filter).

This month’s box had a “Beauty, Set, Go” theme, which meant that all the products were geared toward hydration and re-setting your beauty routine. There were a few box variations for January. I recieved:

  • Tarte Frxxxtion Stick
  • Youth to the People Kale + Spinach + Hyaluronic Acid Age Prevention Creme
  • Ouai Treatment Masque
  • Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey
  • Tory Burch Love Relentlessly perfume
  • AmorePacific Color Control Cushion Compact Broad Spectrum SPF 50+

I’ll talk about each of this one by one, but first, I want to say that I was pretty disappointed with this month’s box. Past boxes have been much better and there are 2 items in this box I know I will just never use.

Tarte Frxxxtion Stick: This is an exfoliating on-the-go cleanser. I find the concept pretty interesting. It claims to be a 3-in-1 exfoliator, cleanser, and face mask that comes in a solid gel stick that you twist up and put all over your face. A full size is 1 oz and costs $22, and this sample in the Play! box is 0.22 oz which is a $4.84 value. I have not tried this yet, but I intend to try it tonight. It’s received pretty positive reviews, so I am excited about this one. I will say that the fact that you’re supposed to put it directly onto your face makes me sort of cringe because it seems like it could leave bacteria all over the stick that is supposed to cleanse your face. But we’ll see.

Youth to the People Kale + Spinach + Hyaluronic Acid Age Prevention Creme: Ugh. Listen, I love moisturizers and I’m always happy to get a moisturizer sample because my skin is dry dry dry. But this just sounds so gimmicky to me. Hyaluronic acid is a great ingredient to have in a moisturizer because it helps the skin retain moisture, but the kale, spinach, and green tea ingredients this product is hyping up have not been shown to have any positive effect on the skin and are really just marketing tactics to bandwagon onto the Superfood Train. That being said, it’s a fine moisturizer. A full size is 2 oz for $48.00, and the Play! sample does not tell you how much you are getting.

Ouai Treatment Masque: My hair is too thin and limp for these deep conditioners Sephora keeps sending me. I’m about to email their customer service and pretty much demand I don’t get another because this is the 3rd, and I have not used either the 1st or the 2nd. I can’t attest to the quality of this product because I will not use it. You can buy a pack of 8 treatments for $32 that have 0.3 oz of product in each packet. The Play! sample gives you 0.5 oz of product, which is a $6.67 value.

20170120_202440016_iosClinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey: I think I’m going to like this. It’s a very sheer was of color on the lips that gives you that “I just drank red wine” look in a very 90s kind of way. That’s a look that I enjoy, so if you do too, I’d check this product out! I think sheer lip colors and lip tints/stains are coming back in 2017. This one feels very moisturizing and nice on the lips, and I can’t wait to wear it out for longer amounts of time to get a real idea of how it works. A full size is 0.07 oz and costs $17, while the Play! sample again does not tell you how much product you’re receiving.

Tory Burch Love Relentlessly perfume: I haven’t enjoyed the last few perfume samples sent by Play!, but this one is beautiful. It feels so feminine, and that’s how Play! describes it. This scent was meant to be romantic and girly, so stay away if you don’t like floral scents. That being said, it has a hint of pepper that adds a kick and prevents it from smelling like straight up flowers. One thing I love about Play! perfume samples is they always come in a spray tube rather than just the tube you have to directly dot onto your skin. They’re perfect for travel. A full size of Love Relentlessly ranges from $68 to $115, depending on how big of a bottle you want.

AmorePacific Color Control Cushion Compact Broad Spectrum SPF 50+: I threw this out

20170120_202333722_ios
Top to bottom: Swatches of Almond Blush, Tan Blush, and Clinique’s Black Honey

pretty much immediately, and I am very annoyed with Sephora over this sample. This is a cushion CC cream, but Sephora did not check whether these colors would suit my skin tone (or I assume anyone’s skin tone). They claim that using the lighter color (Tan Blush) if you’re dark skinned can be used as a “highlight” and the darker color (Almond Blush) if you’re light skinned can be used as a “contour.” This is a silly way of Sephora trying to weasel out of disregarding whether this product will work for the skin tones of their customers. The light color is not light enough on my skin to be used as a foundation, and the dark color is far too warm for contour. Fail. A full-size cushion costs $60. In addition, the shade range for this cushion on the Sephora site is abysmal and goes only as dark as a warm caramel color.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

