Glamglow Supermud Clearing Treatment

I got at least 10 samples of this from Sephora before finally biting the bullet today and getting a full size. Before I even go into the details of this review, I’m just going to tell you right now that it’s going to be a glowing review. This face mask costs $69.00, and you get 1.7 oz or 50 g of product. It’s expensive, and I’m not going to tell you to break the bank to buy this face mask. At the end of the day, it’s a face mask and it’s not going to make you look like Beyonce. But as far as face masks go, this is one of the only ones that has not felt like a placebo to me. This mask actually makes a visible difference on my skin.

The description on Sephora’s site says the mask is best for “normal, oily, or combination skin.” It is designed to “address common skin concerns, which include blemishes, redness, scars, razor bumps…” and the list goes on. You apply a thin layer to your skin, wait 5-20 minutes, and then wash it off. Alternately, use as a spot treatment on zits.

My skin type is dry, dry, dry. However, I was also ~blessed~ with very large pores on my cheeks and black spots all over my nose, forehead, and chin. When I buy a charcoal-based face mask, I look to it to minimize the appearance of my pores and improve the texture of my skin. This mask does that. My skin does feel dry after using it, but that is quickly solved with a good moisturizer. Do a patch test before using as some people have reported breakouts and reactions to this mask.

This mask is clay based (kaolin clay to be exact). Kaolin clay is considered slightly better than bentonite clay (like the Aztec mask) for sensitive skin types. It also contains an array of alpha hydroxy acids (AHAs) and salicylic acid (a BHA). However, these acids are probably only going to slightly help exfoliate, as those acids are best and most effective when left on the skin for longer periods of time. Do remember to use a daily sunscreen when using AHAs.

I highly recommend this, so go out there and grab a sample for yourself. See if it works for you.

Leave a Reply

