Must-Have Products

Makeup and skincare are not a one-size fits all. Take my recommendations with a grain of salt, because only you know what’s best for you. However, I sometimes like to get people’s take on what their absolute must-have, irreplaceable products would be. I love trying out different things, but at the end of the day, it is worth investing in a few solid, reliable staples. Without further ado, here are the products that I think everyone should at least try.

Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Contour Palette ($46.00). This palette has 12 eyeshadows; they are organized into 3 quads depending on undertone. From left to right, there is a neutral quad, a cool quad, and a warm quad. I use this palette basically every day in combination with other palettes or just on its own. It is all matte shadows, and they are all opaque, soft, and easily blendable shadows. I prefer my shadows to be on the softer side, and with those types of shadows there is more fallout, so I do recommend doing your eye makeup first with this palette (although I get minimal fallout onto my cheek unless I’m really packing the product on). I think this palette is the perfect must-have because it can create an every day look, a smokey/dramatic look, something in-between, or just be used to complete and add onto any other look with any other palette. All skin tones will be able to find shades that work for them as transition shades/crease colors, and the shadows blend together beautifully so you can even custom mix shades if the ones in the palette aren’t enough. I believe this palette is a staple in my collection, and I will be repurchasing it probably forever. These are some of the highest quality matte shadows I have ever used, and the price point is more than fair.

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H Foundation ($47.00). Ok, hear me out on this one. I know some people are not willing to spend that much money on a foundation, and that’s fine. BUT I think this foundation is worth it. It comes in 40 shades first of all, from pale to dark and everything in between. The shades are split into warm, neutral, and cool. So besides being people of color friendly with its range (which it 100% is; just ask Jackie Aina), everyone can find their perfect undertone match with this foundation. Many foundations either run warm or run cool, and just basically ignore neutral-undertoned people like we’re unicorns and not real, actual consumers. I’ve been using this foundation for years, and every time I try to branch out and try something new, I come crawling back. It applies beautifully with a sponge and a brush. It has a matte finish, but not completely matte (my dry skin can’t handle the L’Oreal Pro Matte, for example). It never looks cakey and can be built up for medium/high coverage or sheered out for light coverage. And it has SPF in it but no flashback. I could sing its praises all day. Go to Sephora and grab a sample to try out for yourself.

Living Proof Full Dry Volume Blast ($29.00). This is a new addition to my life. I got this a few months ago during the VIB sale, and I have been in love with it ever since. If you have thin, fine, limp hair…RUN. DON’T WALK. GO BUY THIS. This is one of the best volumizing/texturizing sprays I have ever used. It is absolutely comparable to the Oribe Dry Texturizing spray, which I love, but it costs less so that’s good. This spray brings life back to my hair and emphasizes my layered bob haircut in the exact way I want it to be emphasized. I’ll be buying this as soon as I run out of my first bottle (which is gonna be soon).

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge ($6.99). Let me preface this by saying DON’T BUY THE 2-PACK. The quality is not the same as the single sponges. Anyway, I have tried a few different beauty sponges (including the Beauty Blender), and this is still my favorite. The shape is perfect for quickly applying foundation. It retains enough water, but doesn’t sheer out your foundation. It’s easy to clean, the color doesn’t bleed, and it is affordable. With good care and washing, these sponges can easily last months. Try one of these out if you haven’t already.

One thought on “Must-Have Products

Leave a Reply

