First Impressions: Glossier Cloud Paint and Haloscope

If you’ve just woken from a long hibernation or have generally been out of the beauty-verse for a while, allow me to give you some information on Glossier. They are a brand that claims to be “skin first, makeup second.” What that means is their focus is on healthy, beautiful skin, and all of their makeup products help you look natural and effortless. I am a huge fan of their Milky Jelly Cleanser; it is one of the few cleansers that does not strip my very dry skin of all moisture after I cleanse. As far as their makeup, I have not tried much until now. I was in the market for a cream blush and dewy highlight as warmer weather is right around the corner, and I prefer the look of creams to powders when it is hot and sweaty. Enter Glossier, debuting their Cloud Paint cream blushes at the Oscars. I decided to pick up the Haloscope while I was at it, because I had heard it gives you kind of a “wet” look.

I’m not going anywhere tonight (except straight to bed after I post this), so I just wanted 20170309_020108429_iOSto test these products out quickly and share some initial thoughts. The Cloud Paint is $18 for 0.33 fl oz, which is mid-range in terms of price. The website says it is hard to accidentally apply too much, and I completely agree. The best way to apply these is with your fingers. You just squeeze a little bit out of the paint-like tube. They are sheer, very easily spreadble and blendable, but also buildable so you can slowly get to the color that you want. These give you a sort of “blush from within” type of thing, which I personally love. Like all Glossier products, this is not meant to be a BAM blush. It’s meant to look natural, and I do think it does. I bought the shade Dusk, which is a peachy shade that leans more pink/brown.

The Haloscope is a cream highlighter in stick format. You get 0.19 oz for $22. I bought the20170309_015953209_iOS shade Quartz, which is a white-pearl highlight. These will give you more of a “wet” look than most powders can give. It really looks dewy rather than shiny. Oily skin types may not like this much, but my dry skin LOVED it. I applied this directly to my face and then tapped out the edges with my fingers, but you could also use a beauty sponge.

All in all, I am very happy with both of these purchases so far. Bonus fun fact: I’m wearing a t-shirt by one of my favorite podcasts, Pod Save America. If you are at all into USA politics, check it out!

Leave a Reply

