Snowstorm Skin: My Everyday Winter Routine for Dry Skin

There was a snow storm on the East Coast of the U.S. last night, but despite all that, I still am expected to go to work. So here is my everyday skin and makeup routine for harsh, cold conditions. I have very dry skin, so for this type of weather, I need to overcompensate because by mid-day, any moisture I put onto my skin will probably be gone.

Skincare

  1. I don’t wash my face in the morning, but I do take showers. I understand that my showers are probably too hot, and I understand that hot showers are probably the worst thing you can do for dry skin, but you can pry my hot showers from my cold, dead hands.
  2. After my shower, I go in my Cosrx Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence all over my face and neck. I apply a pretty generous layer of this (2 pumps or so) to my face and neck. I let that sink in for a few minutes, but it doesn’t take long.
  3. I moisturize my face and neck with my Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion+. I prefer this to the Dramatically Different gel for dry skin. I’ve been using this moisturizer for a while, and it’s one of my favorites. It hydrates my skin and sinks in quickly without making my skin feel dry after.
  4. Now for the oil. Find whatever face oil works for you. Oils are very particular, and people react so differently to ingredients that I have a hard time recommending one over another. I have tried oils that have broken me out that others have loved and vice versa. I am currently using the Josie Maran Argan Oil because I got a free sample, but Physicians Formula makes a great dupe of this that you can find at the drugstore. It’s just as good. I put a few drops of oil all over my face and wait for that to sink in.
  5. After the oil, I apply sunscreen. This step only works because I wait a while for the oil to sink in. Some sunscreens won’t mix well with oil, so there’s a bit of trial and error involved here. I’m using the Cover FX Clear Cover Invisible Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 30 because I got a sample (do you see a trend here), and I think it works pretty well. It has a very silicone-y feel because dimethicone is the second ingredient, so this will work best with silicone-based primers. But either way, wait for this to sink in (again).
  6. Prime time. This morning I used the Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturizer (second ingredient: dimethicone), and it worked well with the sunscreen. I have a few other illuminating primers I love for this type of a look, but I got a sample of this in my Sephora Play Box and I like it so far. It’s more of a moisturizer than a primer, but whatever. It works either way.

Makeup

  1. For foundation, I just picked up the It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50+ and have been testing it out. The shade range is ABYSMAL (seriously It Cosmetics, you need to expand that shit like yesterday), but otherwise I like this product.”Fair” is a close match for me. I am more of a neutral with olive undertones, while I would say this foundation runs warmer. I will do a full review of this product after I test it for a while longer, but so far, I love how moisturizing it is and it really does look like skin. It has great coverage for a CC cream, and I do like to apply it most with a damp sponge. The SPF is also awesome. Keep an eye out for my review coming soon.
  2. I recently got the Glossier Cloud Paint in “Dusk,” and I have been loving it. I have a full review of this product on my blog already, so I won’t go on for too long. But basically, I go for a cream blush because it tends to look less cakey when I’m dry, and it blends well with the hyper-hydrated look I am going for.
  3. My two favorite highlights to use for this type of a look are the Benefit Watts Up or the Glossier Haloscope in Quartz. Both are beautiful and give a nice “wet” cream highlight look. The Benefit is more gold-toned, while the Glossier is more pearl. I used the Benefit today, but basically pick your poison because they are both really nice.
  4. Add a quick swipe of Essence Make Me Brow through my brows.
  5. And as always, Mac Fix+ and Urban Decay All Nighter to set that shit. 
Leave a Reply

