Review| Kate Somerville UncompliKated SPF Soft Focus Makeup Setting Spray

I have been looking for a good makeup setting spray with SPF in it for a while. Both the Coola and Supergoop sprays made my skin into a greasy mess and ruined my makeup instantly. So when I saw this setting spray under the New category in Sephora, I decided to try it out. Kate Somerville products are overpriced and generally a bit of a miss for me, but I’ll just get right to the point – this setting spray is really nice.

It costs $38 for 3.4 oz of product, which is more expensive than the Urban Decay All Nighter, the gold standard for setting sprays. However, I think the added SPF and nice formulation make this product worth the money. The mister feels like a sunscreen spray mist more than a setting spray. When the spray comes out, it’s such a light and airy mist that you almost can’t even feel it fall on your face. It dries down almost instantly and does not feel oily or greasy at all. 

The ingredients may not be everyone’s favorite. This contains alcohol, as do many setting sprays (including the Urban Decay). The sunscreen is avobenzone, oxybenzone, homosalate, octisalate, and octocrylene, names that will make some people cringe. But there is honestly no concrete evidence to support these ingredients being harmful in the long term, although some may choose not to try this product for that reason. I’m not one of those people, but do you. 

This absolutely made my makeup last longer and look nicer. I loved having the added SPF so that I can reapply throughout the day if I know I’ll be outside without having to worry about damaging my makeup. It does not turn my face into a great big giant ball of grease, which is always an added plus. I really like this product, and I highly recommend it for the summer months ahead. 

3 thoughts on “Review| Kate Somerville UncompliKated SPF Soft Focus Makeup Setting Spray

Leave a Reply

