Review| L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise Waterproof Mascara

The L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise mascara has been the most hyped up mascara lately, so I’m sure you are not surprised to see this review. I saw this mascara in my local Ulta and decided I needed to try it out. I have yet to really find my holy grail mascara, and I’ll be honest, I haven’t even tried that many because I always find myself in a sample backlog of mascaras and it’s always the same few that companies send out in rotation (please no more Urban Decay Perversion…..PLEASE). For reference, my lashes are pretty average length and not too thick or dense. On my upper lashes, I like length more than thickening, especially for the daytime, but for the nighttime, I prefer my mascara to do a bit of both. The Benefit Roller Lash is my go-to for daytime and for my bottom lashes at all times.

The Lash Paradise has been compared to the Too Faced Better Then Sex mascara, and for good reason. The packaging looks similar, with the gorgeous light metallic pink tube for both of them. But more importantly, the wands both have that hourglass shape bristle brush that is supposed to give volume and thickness. However, I actually really hate the Better Than Sex mascara. When I apply it, my lashes look fabulous for all of 20 minutes. After that, the mascara starts to flake, and one hour later, I have raccoon eyes. I have experienced this with the regular formula and the waterproof one.

The Lash Paradise takes everything I love about the Better Than Sex (thickening, intense pigment, length) and then takes away everything I hate about it (flaking, smudging). I think this is one of those cases where the dupe is better than the original. I bought the waterproof formula because it’s summer, and I had read some reviews that said this one smudged slightly less. I have now worn this mascara a few times, both during the day and going out at night, and I can say for sure that the staying power is phenomenal. I notice zero flaking even after hours of wear and no smudging whatsoever. My lashes look as good as they did hours ago when I first applied it. One little tip to use this effectively though: brush the excess off the wand (I use the back of my hand and just tap off the excess mascara). It can clump a bit if you’re not careful, and the formula is pretty creamy fresh out of the tube. Another thing is that it smells a bit like alcohol, so if you’re sensitive to scents, you may not like that.

One thought on “Review| L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise Waterproof Mascara

Leave a Reply

